2018 MLB Silver Slugger Award Winners Announced | Def Pen
Mike Trout
Silver Slugger winner Mike Trout hits a ball earlier this year for the Los Angeles Angels (Victor Decolongon/Getty Images)

Major League Baseball has announced the 2018 Silver Slugger winners for both the American and National League. The Silver Slugger award goes to the best hitter at each position in both the American and National League.

J.D. Martinez was the first player in history to ever win the Silver Slugger award for two different positions. Martinez hit .330 in 2018 with 43 home runs and 130 RBI’s for the Red Sox who also produced Silver Slugger award winner Mookie Betts. The Red Sox tied the Astros with two players taking home Silver Sluggers, but Martinez is taking home two. In the National League the Rockies lead the way having three players take home the award with pitcher German Marquez, second baseman DJ Lemahieu, and Nolan Arenado.

Coming just days after the Gold Gloves were announced, Nolan Arenado picks up both a gold glove award and Silver Slugger award. Besides Arenado there was Nick Markakis and Salvador Perez who also respectively took home a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger Award this year.

In the American League, two of the MVP finalists, Mike Trout and Mookie Betts took home Silver Sluggers. However, the most interesting win of the award came from Nick Markakis. The 34-year old took home his first silver slugger hitting .293 with 14 home runs and 93 RBI’s for the Braves in 2018.


Subscribe now to our newsletter